Beginnings of Word Play

Wordplay and weird jokes! They are dear to my heart, and my husband’s. Our lives are basically endless variations on this scene:

I’ll leave it up to you to decide which of us is Inigo and which is Andre the Giant.

While there are so many wonderful and precious things about the Bean, it has been hard on us sometimes that she is limited in her ability to use and understand language. Don’t get me wrong, the things she says are frequently hilarious, but it’s mostly unintentional. She twists up her sentences and scrambles her syntax, and it’s really hard not to laugh when she’s bellowing at you:

“Mommy is a nappy-poo! I am angry-mad Evey!”

 

I'm a Tigerrrrrrrr

I am a scary tiger!

However, we think there are glimmers of hope. On a recent car journey, Bean was in the back, happily singing about the Gingerbread Man. You know:

Run, run, as fast as you can

You can’t catch me, I’m the Gingerbread Man!

She is big on repetition, and she repeated this, I don’t know, several dozen times– we learn to let it wash over us. Then she started riffing:

Run, run, as fast as you can

You can’t catch me, I’m the Banana Man!

Trev and I both laughed and praised her. Then we tried to get her to do a bit more: Ice Cream Man! Sausage Man! Fish Finger Man! She told us we were silly, or that we were too noisy, and to “stop talking now, please.”

So we lapsed back into silence. After a few moments, she started up again:

Run, run, as fast as you can

You can’t catch me, I’m a Biscuit Man!

We’re going places, people.

One comment

Leave a Reply

