Hey, Sprout

We seem to be largely out of the frost zone here in Blighty, so I took today off to get the garden sorted out.  Earlier in the month Trev kindly shoveled out the lavender and rosemary hedges I planted a few weeks after we were married– the rosemary was dying, crushed by the heavy snow; the lavender was taking up too much space. He burned them one clear, damp evening, along with some sage cuttings, and the smell was one I wish I could bottle.

eewthesmell

Bean gets a whiff of the fertilizer.

He spread the ash over the beds, turned over the soil for me, and today things were pretty much ready to sow. This year’s edition will include:

undergardener

Pre-kindergarten undergardener.

Edibles:

  • Peas
  • Green beans
  • Red onions
  • Spring onions
  • Carrots
  • Potatoes
  • Courgettes (“zucchini”)
  • Butternut squash
  • Raspberries
  • Strawberries
  • Horseradish
  • Bramley apples
  • The “Simon & Garfunkel” herbs (parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme)
  • Chives
  • Lemon balm
  • Spearmint and peppermint
  • Arugula
  • Spinach
  • Lollo rosso lettuce
  • Nasturtiums
  • Sunflowers
  • Borage
considerthelilies

Bean considers the lilies (which are under the large sawdust blobs).

Inedibles:

  • Sweet pea (four types)
  • Morning glory
  • Bearded iris
  • Peonies
  • Tea roses
  • Climbing roses
  • Lavender (technically, it’s edible, but not my taste)
  • Calla lilies
  • Ranuculus
  • Honeysuckle
  • Foxgloves
  • Black hellebore
  • Lilies of the valley
  • Day lilies
  • Poppies
  • Flowering heather
  • Hydrangea
  • Wisteria that someone else planted which I discovered while weeding

And today I got some help, as you can see, from the assistant under-gardener. She’s very good at digging. Tomorrow when I plant up my hanging baskets, I’ll have her use her watering can. Today she tried to pour it out on Quinn, so I had to take it away for a bit.

3 comments

  1. Kate, it comes and goes in bursts. FWIW, half the stuff on the “inedibles” side of the garden has been there a while.

    I did spend three hours out there today, though.

Leave a Reply

